Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA)

What is SFIA?

The Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) is a model for describing the skills and competencies required by professionals in roles involved in information and communication technologies (ICT), software engineering and digital transformation.  It can be used by individuals, managers, human resource professionals, capability development specialists and workforce planners.

SFIA is a global standard that defines digital and other ICT related skills. It provides a common reference point for you to manage your ICT workforce. It is a practical resource which:

  • provides a framework consisting of a standard of professional skills
  • describes the professional skills at various levels of competency
  • describes the levels of responsibility, in terms of generic attributes of autonomy, influence complexity, knowledge and business skills
  • is updated frequently to remain relevant and align with the needs of industry, business, and current thinking.

What can SFIA do for you?

  • SFIA can help you to organise and plan your digital workforce. For example; design a workforce talent strategy for your team helping you know what skills you have in house.
  • Acquire the right talent by providing detailed role specific skills and skill level needed to do a role, helping you to create more ICT target role profiles.
  • Assist to uncover skills gaps and subject matter experts in your team which can lead to the ability to deploy staff into areas of need for I.e. deploying staff to assist with community recovery.
  • Assists to assess and analyse your talent by providing a skills audit for both the individual and business unit which can assist you with planning for future workforce needs.
  • Help you to develop your workforce by defining career paths and assisting with learning and development strategies to support development to reach the path.
  • Guide you to reward staff by tracking their development so they can be offered secondments and acting up opportunities.

Reference: 63 things you can do with SFIA

Accessing SFIA

You can access the framework and additional tools at It is recommended you register as a user to ensure access to all information and resources. Once logged in, you can access documentation relating to the latest version SFIA version 8.

Adopting SFIA for the Queensland Public Service

The sector’s Digital and ICT workforce is a broad and talented group who provide a wide range of transformational and business as usual services to support government priorities.  By aligning to the SFIA framework the sector adopts a common language to describe roles and skills which supports improved strategic workforce planning and targeted workforce initiatives including: the development of career pathways and supporting mobility across the sector.

Mapping SFIA skills to public service levels

The following model can be used as a guide on how to map the levels in SFIA to our public service levels.


PS award equivalent

Foundation level
SFIA 1: FollowAO3: L1
SFIA 2: AssistAO4/PO2/TO2: L2
Practitioner level
SFIA 3: ApplyAO5/PO3/TO3: L3 & L4
SFIA 4: EnableAO6/PO4/TO4: L4 & L5`
SFIA 5: Ensure, adviseAO7: L5
Higher level
SFIA 6: Initiate, influenceAO8: L5 & L6
SFIA 7: Set strategy, inspire, mobiliseSO2: L6 & L7 (majority L6)
 SO1: L7 & L6 (majority L7)
 SES: L7

Note: Classifications within the Public Service Award have an indicative level of competence as per SFIA. SFIA does not replace the JEMs process, it complements it.

Licencing agreement

The Queensland Government and all agencies are licenced to access the global standard for digital and ICT skills for free within Australia through the Australian Government multi-year whole of country licence.

Please ensure that you acknowledge SFIA to any products and services you develop by either

  • Or where your product does not support hyperlinks, you can use the following (without the quote marks):

    'This publication contains information from the Skills Framework for the Information Age used with permission from the SFIA Foundation.'

The details on the terms of use, including terms and conditions and downloadable SFIA logos can be found at

Last Reviewed: 12 January 2022